Trust Logo

Temple Hill

Primary Academy

Scroll to content
Trust Logo

Temple Hill

Primary Academy

Interactive bar

Google Services

Trust Logo

Early Years Foundation Stage

We love learning in Early Years! 


Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)


At Temple Hill, we provide rich learning opportunities to enable children to initiate ideas and activities and develop their understanding through engagement when playing and exploring, motivation when actively learning and creatively and critically thinking.


In both Nursery and Reception we work from the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum which is based on the premise that children learn from first hand experiences.​

There are 7 areas of learning and development that shape the curriculum. All are important and are interconnected. ​


Three Prime areas of learning & development:​

*Communication & Language ​

*Physical Development​

*Personal, Social & Emotional Development​

Four Specific areas oflearning and development:​

*Literacy (Reading and Writing)​


*Understanding of the World​

*Expressive Arts & Design​


At Temple Hill, we learn through a balance of adult directed learning (when the children are engaged in activities and learning led by the adult) and child initiated learning (when the child decides how they will learn and develop through play).



Where learning, laughter, challenge and community responsibility are encouraged and celebrated!